SHEMHOPE

A FERVENT HEART

Bitter Lessons From Mummy!

About a decade ago, the end of a promising future was marked. This left me heartbroken and jolted to my core.

I began my own journey. For me and my family, it was a time of adversity. But during that adversity, I derived a deeper faith. And born of it was a commitment to devote myself to prayer and GOD.

40212_620155887321_185008181_35751344_4293096_n

I shed many tears. I prayed for help. I was angry. I had hit rock bottom!

I was brittle in the face of adversity. I felt singled out when adversity struck; I shook my head and wondered,”Why me LORD?”

I bitterly learned the harshness of this world.

In my early twenties, I was a mess. I was deep in a spiral of hopelessness and despair.

However, one of the greatest gifts I have received from Mummy was witnessing her courage with which she bore adversity. We had a bit of a roller-coaster life and a very challenging financial times.

Mummy remained calm, unshaken, peaceful and ebullient. She was a loving and a jovial Mum! She taught me to stand, when it was hardest to stand!

She often reminded me of a quote from William Arthur Ward that says, “Adversity causes some men to break; others to break records” I chose the latter!

Today, I”m not a quitter. Throughout my life I went through adversity, pain and hopelessness.

It”s in my DNA to be a fighter!

I wait with eager expectation for matriculation and a blessed hope of achieving college education.

shem-2.jpg

I must close this dark chapter in Jesus Name, Amen.

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Bitter Lessons From Mummy!

  1. God bless you brother! Praise the LORD because through the bad times in our life, He makes us stronger! Our almighty Father is always with us (Joshua 1:9). Listen to an encouraging message (appropriate to this blog) in my song ‘Child Of The King’ on https://play.spotify.com/artist/68SCztuRNqQQupaNjgEyGT

Leave a Reply

